HEAD-TO-HEAD · FACTS ONLY
Glow vs Onyx: AI endpoint control facts side by side
Short answer
By The Device Desk · Endpoint AI Finder · Published 2026-10-11
Desk research from public vendor pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.
Vendor pages read September and October 2026 · updated 2026-10-13
Where do their controls sit?
- Filled or hatched marker: Glow
- Dashed teal ring: Onyx, described
- DEV Filled marker: described on the product pages we read
- DEV Hatched marker: partly described (another component, a narrower scope, or method not detailed)
- DEV Dashed marker: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
What are the facts, side by side?
| Fact | Glow | Onyx |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | None | None |
| Positioning | "The Endpoint AI Company": control over everything that runs on the endpoint, in three areas (Asset Intelligence, Software Control, Safe AI Adoption), plus an Anthropic integration that collects per-user Claude usage, skills, connectors and a compliance audit trail. Came out of stealth on 22 July 2026 with $180M; Tel Aviv and Palo Alto. | "The Secure AI Control Plane for the Agentic Era": inline inspection of prompts, tool calls and model responses across browser AI, coding assistants, desktop AI agents, cloud workloads and MCP servers. Based in Tel Aviv and New York. |
| How it reaches devices | How Glow reaches devices is not stated on its homepage; its documentation site could not be read. The Anthropic integration uses one API key and needs Claude Enterprise and the Compliance API. Source: Glow Security: Anthropic integration · Read 13 Oct 2026 | Endpoint agents, browser extensions, APIs and gateways. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| On-device controlDiffers | Partly describedSoftware control and runtime prevention policies; a pre-execution hook can block an action or hold it for approval. Source: Glow Security blog: AI agents exposed developer screenshots, 29 September 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 | DescribedEndpoint agents cover coding assistants and desktop AI agents. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Browser extensionDiffers | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. | DescribedBrowser extensions cover browser AI. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Network or SSE proxy | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. |
| AI or MCP gatewayDiffers | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. | DescribedGateways and APIs inspect traffic inline. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Names the coding agents it covers | PartlyNames Claude Code through a managed-settings bundle in its Anthropic integration. Source: Glow Security: Anthropic integration · Read 13 Oct 2026 | PartlyCovers coding assistants; specific tools are not named on the pages we read. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Decides on a tool call before it runsDiffers | PartlyDescribes a pre-execution hook that can block or hold an action. Source: Glow Security blog: AI agents exposed developer screenshots, 29 September 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 | MatchesInspects every prompt, tool call and model response inline. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Controls what goes into browser AIDiffers | Not in our sources | MatchesCan mask data in browser AI as well as block it. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Rolls out through EDR or device management you run | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Can warn or ask instead of only blockingDiffers | PartlyCan hold an action for approval. Source: Glow Security blog: AI agents exposed developer screenshots, 29 September 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 | MatchesFive actions: alert, block, mask, steer or ask. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Can block an agent, tool or action | MatchesA pre-execution hook can block an action. Source: Glow Security blog: AI agents exposed developer screenshots, 29 September 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 | MatchesBlock is one of five actions. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Has a watch-only or simulation modeDiffers | Not in our sources | PartlyAlert is one of five actions; a simulation mode is not described. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Records who or what took each action | PartlyCompliance audit trail for Claude through the Anthropic integration. Source: Glow Security: Anthropic integration · Read 13 Oct 2026 | PartlyIntegrates with Okta, Entra and Splunk; separating a person from an agent is not described. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Also covers SaaS, cloud or homegrown AIDiffers | PartlyCovers Claude Enterprise accounts, skills and connectors through the Anthropic integration. Source: Glow Security: Anthropic integration · Read 13 Oct 2026 | MatchesCloud workloads and MCP servers as well as devices. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Has a public price or tiers (vendor site or marketplace) | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Built into | None | None |
| Works with | None in our sources | Lists CrowdStrike among its integrations. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Price | Not published (demo request). Source: Glow Security homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026 | Not published. Source: Onyx Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
Where do they differ?
- On-device control: Glow partly describes it; Onyx describes it.
- Browser extension: Glow is not in our sources; Onyx describes it.
- AI or MCP gateway: Glow is not in our sources; Onyx describes it.
- Decides on a tool call before it runs: Glow partly matches; Onyx matches.
- Controls what goes into browser AI: Glow is not in our sources; Onyx matches.
- Can warn or ask instead of only blocking: Glow partly matches; Onyx matches.
- Has a watch-only or simulation mode: Glow is not in our sources; Onyx partly matches.
- Also covers SaaS, cloud or homegrown AI: Glow partly matches; Onyx matches.
Choose Glow if
- Your company runs Claude Enterprise and wants per-user usage and an audit trail
- You want software control on the endpoint alongside AI controls
Choose Onyx if
- You want masking or steering rather than only allow or block
- AI use spans the browser, desktop apps, coding tools and cloud workloads
Which limits should you check?
Glow
- How it reaches devices is not stated on the pages we could read.
- No price is published, and the homepage figures are Glow's own statements.
Onyx
- Uses its own endpoint agents and browser extensions, so there is something new to roll out to devices.
- No pricing published, and specific coding agents are not named on the pages we read.